The dreams of an Irish immigrant who came to Canada more than 150 years ago have resulted in one of the most-visited retail establishments in the country, Toronto's Eaton Centre.
Timothy Eaton arrived in Canada from Northern Ireland in 1854, and by 1869, he had already built his first store. Less than fifteen years later, his business had grown so much that Eaton decided to build his four-story flagship store at the intersection of Queen and Yonge Streets in the downtown area.
In the 1960s, the Eaton organization decided to join with TD Bank and Fairview in hopes of creating a colossal retail mall known as Eaton Centre. The centre, however, didn't take shape until the late 1970s due to opposition against the original plans which would have resulted in the demolition of the Old City Hall and the Church of the Holy Trinity. In 1977, the northern section was completed, and two years later, the original southern section opened. In 1990 and 1999, two additions were made. The Eaton Centre is now six stories tall and the structure currently boasts more than 330 stores and restaurants.